Keeping The FAITH

28 Feb

It had been exactly three weeks since what had fast become known as “The Incident” between Mr. Nice and I.

The (very) abridged version is that, after weeks of him trying very hard to show me that he was truly “Mr. Nice”, I managed to let the skeptical side of me show – and it was not pretty. Poor guy had only made a slightly innapropriate joke that I had hideously misconstrued.

After several texts exchanged on both sides, it seemed things were back on – though it felt like I was treading on egg shells. Two weeks later and I was the one really trying to prove my worth – to no avail it seemed. As the end of the week drew near, my dear friend and I tidied the house and finishing up, lined up on the side were an impressive eight bottles of vino. It would seem trying hard to prove my worth was also fast turning me into an alcoholic.

Sighing, I looked from my phone (Inbox: 0), to the sideboard (wine bottles: 8 ) and to my friend; “Have faith,” he said, “you never know.”

For the first time in a long time I had gotten completely caught up in the prospect of a relationship with a boy – so it seemed I had two choices; I could drive down to my old hometown and tell him how I feel, or, I could take into account his lack of communication / responses and avoidance of seeing me and cut my losses.

It was always obvious what Mr. Nice’s appeal had been – hence the name of course. I would be more than sad to see it go. I wrapped his hoodie in a plastic bag and stuck a post-it with his name on the top of it, ready to drop off on his doorstep when I go back to the South this weekend.

I doubt I’ll hear from him again.

Relationships are a lot like religion; we spend the majority of our time believing; believing that it will work, believing that things will change and often believing that there are better things out there. Sometimes, something shakes the faith so badly we stop believing at all – and when that happens, we need something to restore it. For some, it is the smallest of  gestures, for others it takes something a little bigger, but if there’s one thing I’ve learnt from the entire Mr. Nice debacle, it’s that sometimes you just need to know that sooner or later there will be something – or someone – who will restore the faith – and that my friends, is priceless.

KLW x

2 Responses to “Keeping The FAITH”

  1. Jord March 1, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    That last paragraph nearly made me crryy! Definalty going in my diary to look at when im sad x

  2. stylebitehof March 1, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    oh dont you’ll set me off!!! Ha ha x x

Leave a Reply

